Judy Baskin, Administrative Assistant, Vestibular Testing Center

What do you do?

I am an Administrative Assistant in the Vestibular Testing Center.

Baskin

Judy Baskin

When did you join the Department of Otolaryngology?

I joined the Vestibular Testing Center/OTO in the spring of 2007.

What do you like best about working in our department?

I love being part of a team of people who have high standards, and who work to take good care of our patients, whether it’s scheduling their appointments, checking patients in or out, or performing diagnostic testing and/or therapy.  We all have the same goal of providing quality patient-centered care!

What is your favorite quote?

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandi

What is the most memorable moments as an OTO employee?

The most memorable moment was attending the Recognition Awards Ceremony.  Our Otolaryngology Department and all the folks involved did a fabulous job.  It was so fun to get dressed up and enjoy everyone’s company!  It was especially memorable because our Vestibular Testing Center won the TEAM Award!  I am super proud of our clinic and our department!

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I always wanted to be a teacher.   I graduated from MSU with my teaching degree and major in Biology and had many long-term substitute teaching experiences before I started working at the UM.  I enjoyed figuring out how each student learned best (Visual, Verbal, Social, Kinesthetic, Aural-using sound and music, etc.) and tailored my lessons accordingly.  I remember a lesson plan where I used an overhead projector showing Dominos and using those Domino patterns to teach addition and a biology lesson where I brought frogs into the classroom. I loved making learning a fun and positive experience.

What inspires or drives you every day?

My ability to have a positive impact on our patients experience with our health system at a time when they are most vulnerable. I enjoy calming anxious patients so they feel comfortable coming to the UM for their appointments, and helping them to navigate our large hospital.  The patients and my team of coworkers inspire me!

How do you unwind?

I love to go for “walk and talks” with my family and friends.  We laugh a lot and I always come back home feeling refreshed.  I also love to go to UM hockey games, kayak in Port Austin, play the piano and take trips to Longboat Key, Florida with my family. I am at that point in my life, where “things” don’t matter that much, but having experiences doing and seeing different things with the people I love are what matter.

What would you like to do on your next vacation?

I would love to visit the rock pools in the upper Canadian Rockies, or go back down to Longboat Key and kayak in the ocean!  I love the waves and blue water!

 

Leave a comment